The New Firefox 3.0

18 06 2008

Several time ago, I join Firefox pledge to download The New Firefox 3.0 within 24 hours after it available for download. Firefox want to break the world record for the most software downloaded in 24 hours. And here I am using the new Firefox 3.0. Almost all my addons works (with the new update from the addons). But I found that my favorite addon (imglikeopera) didn’t work (sigh).

But I found a (temporary) work around for it 😀 . Here’s how to do it :

  1. Download imglikeopera if you haven’t got it.
  2. Right click the imglikeopera file and chose open archive (I’m using 7z) or using any of your compression tools. The file could be open just like an ordinary compressed file.
  3. Edit install.rdf file inside the addons.
  4. Find this tag “<em:maxVersion>2.0.0.*</em:maxVersion>” and change it to “<em:maxVersion>3.0.0.*</em:maxVersion>” (without quote char).
  5. Delete this tag “<!–em:updateURL>http://imglikeopera.mozdev.org/update.rdf</em:updateURL–>&#8221;.
  6. Save it and “boom” you got a working imglikeopera for Firefox 3.0. Enjoy.
  7. Hopefully they got a new version of imglikeopera (the real one) soon 😀 .

I’m going to explore Firefox 3.0 more. Until now I have no complain about it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

